Aimer at Beijing: Day 2 Pt.2

Finally, I bring you the highlight of the trip – the Aimer fashion show! After a busy morning and luxurious lunch, we headed to a now defunct factory area which was converted into an arts district that allows local artists to showcase their craft.

What’s striking about the place is that both the interior and exterior of the factories were retained and just slightly refurbished to accommodate the artwork, giving the galleries a raw and gritty feel.

I think this is a fantastic idea. Renting galleries are expensive so it really helps in cutting cost. Artists are starving souls. Or at least that’s the stereotype!

We were supposed to visit this particular gallery but sadly it was closed that day, so we went free-and-easy. Spent about two hours toting about before we headed back to the hotel to prepare for the show!

We took a breather of an hour or so before taking turns to hit the styling room. It was a flurry of activities in there!

I’ve never had my short hair tong-ed and teased ever so I was quite nervous about how it would turn out. But I trust the hairstylist and true enough, I loved the look!

The only thing was the amount of hairspray used. You can’t imagine the amount of time, effort and shampoo it took to wash it all off. That said, worth every spritz. My next haircut might just be that!

So after the magic had been cast, I present you, a very mature-looking me! I was given two dresses to choose from and when I first laid eyes/tried on the one from Opening Ceremony, a US label, I knew that was the one. It was so Valentino! I utterly, absolutely, am in love with it. Plus it fit me to a T!

When we got to the Beijing International Convention Center where the fashion show was held, it was already buzzing with people. It took awhile before we got seated and then some so we busied ourselves. Here’s Hsu Lin, from Ninemer PR agency who handles Aimer, and yours truly at the front row!

Important guests are almost always fashionably late so it was close to an hour before the 42 models and 60 intricate couture lingerie pieces took to the mesmerizing runway that resembled the night sky.

Titled A Neoclassical Fantasy, the show opened with Baroque Gandeur, inspired by “The Marriage of Figaro“, an opera buffa and one of Mozart’s most renowned works. Intricately embroidered and embellished, this medley encapsulated the air of sophistication of the 17th century, yet possessed the right amount of sensuality with rich tones of red, salmon and gold, making it covetable for a modern day women.

Totally up my alley, I’d wear any one, any day! If I haven’t said it enough, I love that era!

The second theme, Natural Zen, however, was a complete turnaround. Featuring comfortable fabrics and thick knits in a relaxed palette of black, white and grey, this arrangement brought to play the beauty of Mother Nature and spiritual harmony through simple and elegant pieces.

I personally feel that the timelessness of the gowns reflect exceptionally well on the China models. Although they reveal a whole lot of leg, the high collars added a traditional, Asian charm, which only the locals can exude.

It must be a tactic to shock our senses, because next up is a bright and intense Modern Orientalism, spurred by the gentle strokes of Chinese ink painting. But don’t be fooled! The spread was nothing short of showy.

Feathers and pleated georgette and silk accurately portrayed the strokes of a paintbrush, with bold yellows anchoring the fusion between orient and contempo. This is easily my favourite assembly aside from Baroque Grandeur with its pure sass!

As you would have guessed, the final showcase, Numinous Medley, was very much subdued. No less captivating, the source of brilliance for this collection was the Kunqu (崑曲), one of the oldest forms of Chinese opera. Characterised by delicate melodies and vivid demonstrations, the swathes of silk mesh and satin billowing from the strut mirrored the fluid actions of the dramaticists.

I don’t think there’s anything not to love here. In fact, I think brides should be lusting after these. The powdery shades would definitely make good for the occasion. Every woman should take care to wear gorgeous lingerie on her wedding day!

Unlike Victoria’s Secret which ended with a party, Aimer stunned the crowd with the unveiling of the 4th Gold Bra, 3 of which are displayed in their office.

Encrusted with 160 diamonds, the intricate needlework was hand woven from 465g of fine gold thread, measuring over 500m in length. Combining modern technology, conventional craftmenship and Europoean lace-making techniques, this exquisite brassiere isn’t merely a bra, but a work of art.

After crowd started to dissipate, everyone gathered to take a picture with the models. They towered over every single one of us. I wonder if it’s the food that they eat?

Picture credits to Aimer.

In between collections there was time to spare, so I amused myself by trying to take shots of which my camera isn’t meant to. My kits lens is sad and can’t zoom far but I still tried to anyway. I’ve kindly circled Gong Li, the brand ambassador of Aimer, and China supermodel and Miss World 2007, Zhang Zilin!

Of course, what’s a fashion event (or any event with babes involved) without hordes of zealous photographers and their muscular toys? It can get rather distracting though since I was seated beside them. All the shutter noises!

Finally, before I end this overly-long post, we had a close-up encounter with Gong Li!

Should have seen us. It was hilarious. We were all jittery like fans. Well, technically we are. She was stunning and had no airs. In fact, she took the initiative to approach us! I guess we just freezed at the sight of the superstar.

With that happy ending, we all slowly trudged back to the hotel for a good night’s rest. So do I now, it’s 4 05am.

The runway designs will be translated into RTW for sale, so if your heart’s been stolen by the exquisiteness, you can visit their stores for an inspired option:

Marina Bay Sands
6 Raffles Boulevard
#B2-107, The Shoppes

Takashimaya
391 Orchard Road
Level 3, Lingerie Department

VivoCity
1 HarbourFront Walk
#01-138/139/140

Jurong Point (newly opened)
1 Jurong West Central 2
#03-60

Yours Always
Autymn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment